Where the Fire Falls – Book Review

What a fun idea to set a series of historical novels in National Parks! Where the Fire Falls takes place in Yosemite in the 1920’s. Karen Barnett weaves a story of intrigue and mystery in the vintage art world.

Artist Olivia Rutherford has worked hard to create an image as an avant-garde artist in order to attract the attention of wealthy art collectors. She gets her break when she’s assigned a contract to paint Yosemite National Park for a travel magazine, but it means confronting her past she’s tried to leave behind.

Former pastor Clark Johnson enjoys his job as a guide at the national park, but he also has to confront her past in order to move forward.

Together, Olivia and Clark help each other discover who they really are and where they need to be.

I’m not an outdoorsy person, but the descriptions of the backcountry camping trips made me want to go to Yosemite and experience it firsthand. I loved the themes of redemption and forgiveness and new beginnings. I look forward to reading more books in the series.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.